Cheika confirms team for World Cup clash with Wales

Cheika confirms team for World Cup clash with Wales

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has made four changes to his starting side ahead of Australia’s Pool D clash with Wales at Tokyo Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Will Genia and Bernard Foley will re-unite in the halves while Dane Haylett-Petty will wear the number 15 jersey as Kurtley Beale shifts to the bench.

Adam Ashley-Cooper replaces Reece Hodge on the right wing, in what will be the 35-year old’s 120th Test match and his 18th Rugby World Cup game. Ashley-Cooper has started in all 17 of his previous World Cup games, spanning from 2007 to 2015, having won 13.

It’s a milestone match for centre James O’Connor who will bring up his 50th Test cap when he runs out against Wales, almost 11 years on from making his International debut against Italy on the 2008 Spring Tour.

The clash with Wales will also mark Australia’s 50th Rugby World Cup game as they become just the second nation to achieve the feat behind New Zealand (51).

Australia last met Wales on the 2018 Spring Tour in Cardiff when the hosts dug deep for a gritty 9-6 win at Millennium Stadium.

The Wallabies and Wales have enjoyed some memorable battles at the Rugby World Cup, having met six times at Rugby’s showpiece (Australia W5, L1).

The Wallabies will next take on Uruguay in Oita on October 5 before shifting north again to Shizuoka for the final Pool D clash against Georgia the following weekend. The two highest-ranked teams at the end of the pool stage will advance to the Quarter Finals.

Foxtel will showcase every Rugby World Cup game LIVE across two dedicated channels with no ad-breaks during play and in 4K Ultra High Definition. All games will also be streamed LIVE and On Demand on Kayo Sports.

Ten of the biggest matches from the 2019 Rugby World Cup will air LIVE and free on Network 10, WIN Network and, including every Australia match right up to and including the Final.

Wallabies team to play Wales at Tokyo Stadium, Tokyo on Sunday 29 September, 4.45pm JST

1. Scott Sio (60 Tests)

2. Tolu Latu (16 Tests)

3. Allan Alaalatoa (34 Tests)

4. Izack Rodda (22 Tests)

5. Rory Arnold (23 Tests)

6. David Pocock (79 Tests)

7. Michael Hooper (c) (96 Tests)

8. Isi Naisarani (5 Tests)

9. Will Genia (106 Tests)

10. Bernard Foley (70 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (25 Tests)

12. Samu Kerevi (vc) (30 Tests)

13. James O’Connor (49 Tests)

14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (119 Tests)

15. Dane Haylett-Petty (34 Tests)


16. Jordan Uelese (5 Tests)

17. James Slipper (92 Tests)

18. Sekope Kepu (107 Tests)

19. Adam Coleman (35 Tests)

20. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (17 Tests)

21. Nic White (27 Tests)

22. Matt To’omua (48 Tests)

23. Kurtley Beale (88 Tests)

2019 Rugby World Cup

Wallabies 39 v Fiji 21 at Sapporo Dome, Sapporo, Japan, Saturday 21 September at 2.45pm AEST

Wallabies v Wales at Ajinomoto Stadium, Tokyo, Sunday 29 September at 5.45pm AEST

Wallabies v Uruguay at Oita Bank Dome, Oita, Saturday 5 October at 3.15pm AEST

Wallabies v Georgia at Shizuoka Stadium, Shizuoka, Friday 11 October at 9.15pm AEST

Source link