Dutch authorities name four suspects in MH17 crash

Dutch authorities name four suspects in MH17 crash

The Dutch authorities are charging four suspects in Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17 crash case, the joint investigation team (JIT) reveals, noting that the move marks the beginning of the Dutch criminal proceedings.

JIT reveals the four suspects are Igor Girkin, Sergey Dubinsky, Oleg Pulatov (all Russian nationals), and Leonid Kharchenko (Ukraine). They are suspected of playing a “significant role” in the downing of the airliner back in 2017. While they have not “pushed the button” themselves, their actions have led to the shooting of the MH17, the prosecutors believe.

The four suspects are to be charged for causing the MH17 crash, which led to the deaths of all 298 on board. The criminal proceedings will take place in the Hague, the Netherlands, starting on March 9, 2020.

JIT is the Dutch-led authority, comprised from representatives from five countries, which is investigating the Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17 crash over eastern Ukraine in 2014. On June 19, 2019, the JIT announced an update of the criminal investigation during a press conference.

On July 17, 2014, a Boeing 777 of Malaysia Airlines flying from Amsterdam (The Netherlands) to Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) was shot down above Eastern Ukraine, near Donetsk. The 283 passengers (193 Dutch victims) and 15 crew members all died in the crash.


Source link